Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Im in the market for a new all purpose shotgun.The only shotgun I own as of now is a 870 wingmaster which is great but id like an auto. This will be used for deer(with slug barrel),turkey,crows,pheasant,coyote and some clay for fun. Ive narrowed it down to a SBE2 or M2; now for my questions...what is the difference between the two other than the SBE2 is 3 1/2 capable? Which length barrel for my needs? (i want the timber camo version so i guess its between 24" or 26") Is the slug barrel forearm campatable with the field barrel, or do i need two seperate? Anything else please recoomend. Thanks

·
Registered
248 Posts
I have the SBE II (28" black ) and my father has the M2 (28" black). Both are used mostly for clays (yes, clays). The SBE II is my favorite firearm of any kind (if you can do cross-firearm comparisons). Both have been flawless and have been used with all kinds of loads within their chambering in all kinds of weather.

Before you ask, yes, my SBE II regularly cycles 1 oz loads. I have never tried it with 3/4 oz load, because I do not reload 12 ga. and they are hard to find and expensive. In fact, for the last 3 or 4 months, all I have been shooting out of it are Remington 1 oz. game loads available at Wal-Mart. I have shot about 500 1 oz. loads in said time period.

That being said, my father loves his M2, and the conventional wisdom is that it is the better general purpose gun. My mileage varies from this. However, purchasing an M2 rather than an SBE II will save you $200-400.

One major problem for both is the availability of extra barrels. This is a major problem for Benelli. However, both guns are tapped and use Weaver mounts. I just use Foster slugs, and everything is okay. My friend also has an SBE II and has a rifled choke for it. It works for him, but I don't know what brand it is.

Elliott

·
Registered
1,792 Posts