Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie, I could use some advice regarding which colors of lenses in shooting glasses are used for what shooting conditions--particularly the colors of pale green, amber, bronze and vermillion.

·
Registered
5,810 Posts
I haven't found a situation where green works for me. Others may have different experiences. The vermillion is used in bright conditions where there is a darkish background like trees. The amber I've used when it is cloudy but still bright. My main hue is light purple followed by vermillion. I also have light yellow and clear for real dark conditions. The bronze I use as sunglasses for driving. A key factor to use when picking glasses is to use the lightest color you can get away with. Too dark of a shade will cause the pupils to dialate which can interfere with depth perception and that leads to incorrect target reads. Everyone will have a different idea as to the "best" color. Only you can determine what is best for you through experience.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I'm a newbie too, but I like the yellow lenses in my glasses. I have these. They were only $25 and come with 3 different lenses. They're definitely not the same quality as name brand high dollar glasses, but they suit me just fine. I did notice that it feels like I acquire the target better with the yellow lenses than with clear lenses. I haven't tried the gray lenses.[/url]

·
Premium Member
2,667 Posts
One of the good deals that comes as a combo with ear protection is the Radians Rad Pack: http://robertseyewear.com/radianscombo.html

I like the amber and vermillion lenses. Colors are all based on your perception of the target against the background. Vermillions, bronze, and orange colors are the most common seen on the field as they help the target stand out against a background.