Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:? I have been reloading shotgun for over 40 years. I have been given 5 pounds of Win. 231. I won't load that many pistols as long as I live. I was wondering if anyone has used 231 in 20 or 28ga. ? Powder burning charts show it's burning speed is close to 20/28.

·
Registered
207 Posts
While in my "crazier" days I have downloaded factory shells, reducing powder and shot, I have never tried a powder not designed for a shotgun. I would not try it.

231 is closer in burn speed to Bullseye, Red Dot and Promo, rather than 20/28, and my guess is that it has too high a pressure curve to use for consistent, safe use in any shotgun. I think if Winchester could have gotten away with marketing 231 as a shotgun powder, they would have listed loads for it by now.

The manuals don't even list Bullseye any more, so I would stick with an established shotgun powder. My advice is to find a fellow shotgunner who loads for pistols and see if they want to trade with you. You may even find a local trade by posting it on the SGW classifieds.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can not say your wrong. I have ask local shooters but there are all old like and can see pistol sight any longer, so no one wants the powder. Hodgdon relative burn rate cart shows SR 7625 and HP-38 as faster, 20/28 and unique as slower. 231 could be to dense for shotguns thats why Winchester never sold it as a shotgun powder? I have oaded ammo for a long time an have done one or two dumb things, that why I am asking so I won't be the first to try 231 in a shotgun.

·
Registered
10,357 Posts
W-231 is almost the same burning speed as Bullseye. Bullseye was listed as a low recoil load in Lymans book for years. Listed in #4 Lymans. They showed using 16.5 grs with 7/8 oz. loads, and had a chamber pressure of about 7000 PSI.