Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me begin by saying that I'm very new to the shotgun world. I recently bought a hand gun for self defense and looking to purchase a shotgun (20 gauge, my wife will also use it and I have medical problems in my chest and shoulders) for the same reason.

I spend a couple hours on the web learning the basics about shotguns and shotshells. I'm looking for a decent price ($300) shotgun and after brousing the web thought the Winchester 1300 Defender, 12 gauge would be a good choice. Your thoughts?

Also on what load to use for self defense? It seems to me something like the buckshot, 3 buck, 24 pellets, 3 inch?

Your thoughts and ideas would be greatly appriciated.

I just found this sight so I'm off now to spend another couple hours reading through it.

·
Registered
17 Posts
OK, I figured buy now one of the regulars would have told me to look down a little ways and there was already a post about the Defender 1300. Guess I should have looked around a little more before posting.

I would still like to hear thoughts on what ammo to use.

Also, what would be a reasonable price (suggested retail is $335) and are they generally available?

·
Registered
7 Posts
I've had a Defender for a few months now, and can hardly complain at all. Only gripe is that the finish on the reciever scratches off easily, but that is something that doesn't affect the function, so it's really no big deal.

Any ammo will work fine in it, from bird to buck to slugs, but for home defense, anything from #4 to 000 buck will be perfect. Handles the 3" magnums well, but kicks like a mule. 2.75" shells should be perfect for any home defense situation great gun for a good price, should be able to pick up one for $300 at the most. got mine for $270 at Big 5, which seems to always have sales on them.

Fun to blast clays with it too :D

·
Registered
17 Posts