Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am thinking about buying the above shotgun in 12 gauge,26" barrel it has an improved fixed choke on the bottom and full on the top.It was made in japan in 1964.?I think?. He wants $550.00 which seems like allot for a used shotgun. I really want an o/u though. I will probably use it for pheasants,chucker etc. I am new to hunting. It would be great to hear some honest views on this gun. Thanks, Ron

·
Registered
541 Posts
I feel that the Browning superposed and the Winchester 101 set the standard for the O/U. The cheapest I have ever seen a 101 is around $800, and they are well used. If you can get it for $550 buy it and if you don't like it you can sell it for more. Heck I would give you $575. ;) I am sure you will love the gun. They are awsome guns. The gun would be great for pheasant and upland birds where you don't have to shoot steel shot. Due to the age you will not be able to shoot steel and my guess is it is a 2-3/4" chambers which like I said for upland it is great. 8o They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. -Benjamin Franklin, Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.

·
Registered
180 Posts
why worry about steel shot. Kent and Bismuth shot shells work great if you can't use lead. I shot Kent in a oldie but goldie ( Rem 11) and no problems with the barrel. A mite dirty on clean up but still, got the birds.

·
Registered
5 Posts