Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the whole shotgun thing. I am in the process (through layaway) of buying a Remington 870 Express. That really has nothing to do with my question really.

My question is - What is the difference (besides the obvious) in the different types of shot, like lead, steel, etc...???

Thanks

·
Registered
151 Posts
Lead generally has more range and downing power to it because of its higher density. But for waterfowl non-toxic shot is required so steel is the least expensive choice. With steel 2 sizes larger shot is about equal to lead in performance but you don't get as many pellets either.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Okay, I'll tackle it.

Lead is heavy, (specific gravity of 11 compared to steel at 7, various tungsten alloys between 9 and 10, and bismuth around 10) but it is not legal for waterfowl hunting in the U.S. Lead takes up less space in the shell. It also carries more energy per pellet than other materials in the same size of shot at the same velocity simply because energy is a function of pellet weight.

Steel shot is basically iron, and it and the tungsten alloys are hard enough to do damage to shotgun barrels without a plastic sleeve around the shot load. They tend to deform less in shooting than lead and bismuth.

There is more to know about shot as far as sizes, loadings, etc., but this is the basics of the difference in materials.

·
Registered
981 Posts
Spacegold: I was not aware that bismuth shot was not legal in the U.S. I beleive that lots of waterfowl hunters are shooting KENT cartridge company. Bismuth matrix shotgun shells.

·
Registered
502 Posts
tamccain, first off let me welcome you to SGW, Isee this is your first of many posting in the future. Its always nice to have new people in here.

Other than the obvious they all have thier place in the shooting world.

Lead- used for target shooting usually 7 1/2 down to 9 is the norm