Shotgun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 167 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've posted it in "restoration" too
I am thinking of refinishing a stock, I've never done that before and need an advice.
Could you please comment on my options?

1. TRU-OIL Gun Stock Finish (good protection, but glossy[?])
2. LIN-SPEED (good protection?, not too glossy[?])
3. Dem-Bart Continental-Style Stock and Checkering Oil ([?], [?], easy to use[?])
4.Just put some wax type of thing on the wood?

What would you use to seal the "inside"?

I've just bought new Yildiz, really like how it shoots and feels, but I am concerned it won't last me long with the finish it has on the wood (it feels like an oil finish of some kind, but somewhat dry, and I can see pores if I look close).
My main goal is to protect wood from water, but I would like to avoid high-gloss type of finish too, just don't like it.
Do I just worry too much? Had a cracked stock on the gun I got from my dad before.

·
Registered
37 Posts
My Yildiz dealer up here in Canada told me all his guns were being shipped pre-treated with Linseed oil. That is what Yildiz has instructed him to continue treating the stocks with.

I agree that this finish doesn't seem durable, and needs to be continually mantained. Other people notice that my gun has a "smell" to it from the oil, and a bit of a greasy finish at times.

I am considering the TruOil idea.

·
Registered
73 Posts